It appears that your browser does not support JavaScript, or you have it disabled. This site is best viewed with JavaScript enabled. If JavaScript or cookies are disabled in your browser, please enable them and then reload this page.
Skip to main content

Item Count: 0
Sub-Total: $0.00

 

 

Day1Access FAQ

What is Day1Access?
The Day1Access program is a digital textbook model in collaboration with top publishers to reduce the cost of required course materials. Access for all students begins the first day of class, with the option to opt-out of purchasing through the drop/add period.

How do I get my required course materials through the Day1Access Program?
Your required digital course materials are delivered through Folio. Access begins the first day of class. Go to My.GeorgiaSouthern.edu, Login, select Folio, and select your course.
Not Seeing Your Course in Folio? If you don't see a class in FOLIO, and it starts in less than a week, your instructor may have made it inactive. If you are concerned about access, please email your instructor.

How much does Day1Access cost?
Prices are negotiated and vary depending upon the course materials chosen by the instructor but are contracted to be lower than competitive market rates.

What does it mean to opt-out?
If you do not wish to purchase the required course materials through the Day1Access program, you have until the add/drop day to opt-out. If you opt-out by the deadline, access to the online content will be turned off and the cost will not appear on your Student Billing Account found in WINGS.

How do I opt-out?
To Opt-Out, log in to Folio, and there will be a prompt to Opt-Out of the delivery of the digital product. Select the correct option to opt-out and submit. If you opt-out, you will be responsible for purchasing your own materials.

I dropped the course. Do I still need to opt-out?
Students who drop the course before the add/drop deadline will automatically be "opted-out". There are no refunds for students who drop after the add/drop deadline.

I did not opt-out, but I did not register my access or use the online platform. Will I have to pay?
Yes. All students who are enrolled in a course using Day1Access are automatically considered part of the program. To avoid paying for the digital materials you must opt-out through your Folio course home page before the add/drop deadline.

I forgot to opt-out and missed the deadline. Can I get a refund now?
Once the cost of the required course materials has been applied to your Student Billing Account, there are no refunds.

I opted out by mistake and realized that I still need my access. Can I opt back in?
Yes, if it is before the add/drop deadline. To opt back in, you will log in to Folio and select the prompt to opt back in. If you do not opt back in before the add/drop date, please visit the University Store Textbook Office for assistance.

I didn't get an email about my course, but other students in my class did. Was I sent an email?
All enrolled students are emailed about the program to their official university email address. If it is not in a spam folder or was accidentally deleted, email your instructor.

How do I pay for my access?
The access is free through the add/drop date. After that, all enrolled students who have not opted-out of the program or dropped the course will have the discounted price applied to their Student Billing Account. The cost of the required digital content for Day1Access will appear on your Student Billing Account as "Bookstore Charge.”

I have further questions that were not addressed. Who do I contact?
If your question wasn't answered in this FAQ,
For Day1Access questions email the Textbook Office – [email protected]
If you have general inquiries about the course itself, please contact your instructor directly.

Having a connection issue or trouble with the online content?
First, try clearing your cookies and cache and/or using a different browser.
After clearing your cookies and cache close your browser and open it back up.

 

How to clear your cookies/cache

Chrome
1. On your computer, open Chrome.
2. At the top right, click the button with 3 dots.
3. Click 'More tools', then 'Clear browsing data'.
4. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.
5. Next to "Cookies and other site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes.
6. Click Clear data.

Firefox
1. From the History menu, select Clear Recent History.
2. From the Time range to clear: drop-down menu, select the desired range; to clear your entire cache, select Everything.
3. Next to "Details", click the down arrow to choose which elements of the history to clear; to clear your entire cache, select all items.
Safari 8.0 - 10.0 (Mac)
1. Click Safari in the upper left-hand side of your screen. In the menu that appears, click Preferences.
2. In the window that appears, click the Privacy Tab. Click the button Remove All Website Data....
3. Click Remove Now in the pop-up window that appears.

Edge
1. Select the Hub icon (three horizontal lines at top bar in front of a star), click the History menu option, and then click Clear history.
2. Select "Cookies and saved website data" and "Cached data and files". After the two are marked click Clear.

Internet Explorer 8
1. Select Tools > Internet Options.
2. Click on the General tab and then the Delete... button.
3. Make sure to uncheck Preserve Favorites website data and check both Temporary Internet Files and Cookies then click Delete.

 

 

Privacy and Disclaimer
I.3.A